Typography & Lettering Awards Winners 2016: Handlettering

Want to see your work featured in Print magazine? Enter the 2017 Regional Design Annual for your chance to be spotlighted!


<< Back to the 2016 Typography & Lettering Winners Homepage


Handlettering Best in Class

Neenah Presents Atlanta

Typography & Lettering

Russell Shaw Design, Atlanta; www.russellshawdesign.com: Russell Shaw (art director/designer/illustrator/copywriter), Sarah Baker (copywriter/marketing communications manager), Fey Printing, Scott Gasch, Paul Siekert (printers); Neenah Paper (client)


Handlettering Merit Winners

1. 92Y Lyrics & Lyricists 2017 Season Brochure

Typography & Lettering

92nd Street Y, New York City; www.92y.org: Amy McDonald, Charles Gates (art directors), Alexandra Charitan (designer/illustrator), Cary Gitter (copywriter), Nugent Alison (printing)


2. 2017 HPB Calendar

Typography & Lettering

Half Price Books In-House, Dallas; www.hpb.com: Allyson Bradley (vice president, marketing and creative), Meredith Mathews (creative director), Mark McKenzie (art director/copywriter), John S. Dykes (illustrator), Quad Graphics (printing); Half Price Books (client)


3. A Very Merry “Holiday Season”

Typography & Lettering

Paperless Post, New York City; www.paperlesspost.com: Cat Chi (art director/illustrator), Jason Wong (designer), Gerard Coletta (copywriter)


4. Austin’s One and Only for More Than 85 Years

Typography & Lettering

White Hat Agency, Austin, TX; www.wearewhitehat.com: Matt Carlsen (art director/photographer), Emma Canela (designer/illustrator/copywriter), Jim Strachan (creative director/copywriter)


5. Book Smart

Typography & Lettering

Footwear Plus Magazine, New York City; www.footwearplusmagazine.com


6. Craft Matters

Typography & Lettering

Wyne Enterprises, San Francisco; www.wyne.enterprises: Dan Read (are director), Matthew Wyne (illustrator); BJ’s Restaurant and Brehouse (client)


7. Danielle’s Donuts & Vegan Sweets

Typography & Lettering

Caleb Ortega, Amarillo, TX; www.calebortega.com: Caleb Ortega (designer); Danielle’s Donuts (client)


8. Freedom for Political Prisoners in Russia

Typography & Lettering

Contrast Foundry, Den Haag, Netherlands; www.contrastfoundry.com: Katerina Kochkina, Maria Doreuli (designers), Varya Mikhaylova (advisor)


9. Future is the Past

Typography & Lettering

Kathy Mueller Design & David Jones Design, Philadelphia; www.kmuellerdesign.com: Kathy Mueller, David Jones (designers); Adobe (client)


10. Half a Lifelong Romance

Typography & Lettering

Vintage & Anchor Books, New York City: Megan Wilson (art director), Linda Huang (designer), Eileen Chang (author); Anchor Books (client)


11. Havana Club Redesign

Typography & Lettering

Jones Knowles Richtie, New York City; www.jkrglobal.com: Tosh Hall (executive creative director), Tara Lubonovich (designer), Josh Griffin (senior account manager), Meredith LaPerch (marketing assistant); Havana Club (client)


12. Home Sweet Home

Typography & Lettering

Workman Publishing, New York City; www.workman.com: James T. Williamson (art director); Workman Publishing Inc. (client)


13. Molley Chomper

Typography & Lettering

Jenny Pfost Design, Los Angeles; www.jennypfost.com: Jenny Pfost (art director/designer/illustrator), Kate Arscott-Mills (art director), Walker Pfost (copywriter)


14. Stay True Mural

Typography & Lettering

Ben Johnston, Toronto, Ontario; www.benjohnston.ca: Ben Johnston (designer/illustrator), Jake Sherman (photographer); DGS + JP Wiser’s (client)


RDA_2017_logos_web_800x200