Lick’em Stick’em Mail ’em: Industrial Icons

Posted inThe Daily Heller
Thumbnail for Lick'em Stick'em Mail 'em: Industrial Icons
pioneers of American Industrail Design

Introducing the new postage series that gives last licks to industrial design. I cannot, nay will not, say it better than the U.S. Postal Service:

The Pioneers of American Industrial Design (Forever®) stamp pane honors 12 of the nation’s most important and influential industrial designers. Encompassing everything from furniture and electric kitchen appliances to corporate office buildings and passenger trains, the work of these designers helped shape the look of everyday life in the 20th century.Each stamp features the name of a designer and a photograph of an object created by the designer, as well as a description of the object and the year or years when the object was created. The selvage features a photograph of the “Airflow” fan designed by Robert Heller around 1937.Art director Derry Noyes selected the objects that appear on the stamps.The Pioneers of American Industrial Design stamps are being issued as Forever stamps. Forever stamps are always equal in value to the current First-Class Mail one-ounce rate.

The chosen are Frederick Hurten Rhead, Walter Dorwin Teague, Norman Bel Geddes, Raymond Loewy, Donald Deskey, Gilbert Rohde, Greta von Nessen, Russel Wright, Henry Dreyfuss, Peter Müller-Munk, Dave Chapman, and Eliot Noyes, (Robert Heller is no relation. But I love his fan.)